Search This Blog

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Grupo Fantasma to release El Existential May 11

In 2008, Grupo Fantasma was nominated for a Grammy, will their new album bring in the same acclaim?

On May 11, we may find out, as the Latin band's 4th album, El Existential gets released on Nat Geo Music.

This time around, GF recorded the new album in a rental home in Austin, TX (bring back memories of RHCP's vid for "Suck My Kiss"?) Aside from removing the recording studio from their sessions, GF also brought in legendary pianist Larry Harlow (here's a clip of him performing with Mars Volta) and guitarist Curt Kirkwood (Meat Puppets).

Track Listing
1. Realizando
2. La Conozco
3. Sacatelo Bailando
4. "El Consejo"
5. Hijo
6. Juan Tenorio (feat. Larry Harlow)
7. Montañozo
8. Calor
9. Reconciliar
10. 25
11. Telaraña (feat. Curt Kirkwood from The Meat Puppets)
12. Cumbianchera
13. Araña Cuña

Prior to the release, check out the band's mini-documentary the Making of El Existential

how about some blues news -
  • The Holmes Brothers do a sit-down interview with Bill Wax on Sirius Firday at 1 p.m. ET; and reair Sunday at 3 p.m. ET
  • new vid of Sun Araw
  • Stephen Brodsky has a free mp3 through The Boston Phoenix
  • The Austerity Program will release Backsliders and Apostates Will Burn on May 4 (Hydra Head)

Become a fan of Sonic on Facebook
Follow Sonic Dissonance on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment