Search This Blog

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Want to know who are the next big things from Scotland?

The Scottish Arts Council is bringing you the best in new music from Scotland. As they've done in the past, the SAC is working together with many up-and-coming artists to represent the country and get the word out about music that may make a difference in the future.

In the past, they've brought us artists like Belle & Sebastian, Glasvegas, Mogwai, The Fratellis, KT Tunstall and others. This year, they've again made us a nice little comp disc to present a sample from 14 different artists.

Here's the tracklisting for this year's Showcasing Scotland compilation:

1. It's Thunder and It's Lightning / We Were Promised Jetpacks (Copyright Control/We Were Promised Jetpacks)
2. Nothing Like You / Frightened Rabbit (Domino Publishing /Frightened Rabbit)
3. Hollywood / Codeine Velvet Club (EMI Music Publishing/Dangerbird Records & Universal Island Records)
4. Lightspeed / Twin Atlantic (Twin Atlantic Music Publishing & Red Bull Media House/Red Bull Records)
5. Rising 5 / Hudson Mohawke (Warp Records)
6. Animal City / Unicorn Kid (EMI Publishing/Unicorn Kid)
7. Straight Back On It / Young Fathers (Copyright Control/Black Sugar)
8. Gimme A Call / Tommy Reilly (BMG Rights Management/Polydor)
9. Willows of Carbeth / Trembling Bells (Copyright Control/Alex Neilson)
10. If The News Makes You Sad, Don't Watch It / Broken Records (Nude/4AD)
11. Cos I Said So (Kid Gloves Mix) / Fangs (Copyright Control/Fangs)
12. Don't Stop, Believe / The Law (Local Boy Media/Local Boy Media)
13. After the Fire / St Deluxe (Copyright Control/Cameron/Kirwan)
14. Be My Saviour / Colin MacIntyre (aka Mull Historical Society) (Colin MacIntyre/Future Gods Recordings)

lots to talk about today (I hope) -
  • Motion City Soundtrack on B-Sides last night
  • 00:02:59 records has put out their first newsletter in about a year, and is promising a new release to be announced in their next newsletter. They elude to it being Leeroy Stagger
  • Christopher Denney will have one of his songs get used on the new Showtime Series The Big C
  • Quadron streaming on Spinner
more in a bit including some great news for our favorite unsigned band out of the UK

i'm also starting a new series with these posts each weekday will have a different theme and Tuesday's are gonna be "Cover song day"

Become a fan of Sonic on Facebook
Follow Sonic Dissonance on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment