Search This Blog

Monday, April 19, 2010

All the John Prine news you can handle

there's a lot here and it's an oversized email, so you get it all -

Among the most influential and unmistakable songwriting voices of the past four decades, John Prine continues to cast his perceptive eye upon the subtle complexities of the human condition, delivering his observations in his uniquely concise, illuminating compositions. On May 25th, Oh Boy Records (founded in 1981 by Prine and manager Al Bunetta) will release In Person& On Stage, a beguiling live album drawn from performances spanning the past several years. Drawing songs from as far back as Prine's revelatory 1971 debut and as recently as 2005's acclaimed Fair & Square, In Person & On Stage showcases the remarkable continuum that Prine's catalog has become.

"Long Monday" (live) from In Person & On Stage is a free download. Co-written by John Prine and Keith Sykes, "Long Monday" originally appeared on John Prine's Grammy-winning album Fair & Square.

Head to for a free download of  "She Is My Everything" (live) in exchange for your email address.

Oh Boy will begin a pre-sale for In Person & On Stage on April 19th at

1. Spanish Pipedream
2. She Is My Everything
3. In Spite Of Ourselves (featuring Iris DeMent)
4. Long Monday
5. The Late John Garfield Blues (featuring Sara Watkins)
6. The Bottomless Lake
7. Bear Creek Blues
8. Saddle In The Rain
9. Angel From Montgomery (featuring Emmylou Harris)
10. Your Flag Decal Won't Get You Into Heaven Anymore
11. Mexican Home (featuring Josh Ritter)
12. Unwed Fathers (featuring Iris DeMent)
13. Glory of True Love
14. Paradise (featuring Kane Welch Kaplin)


Offering an intriguingly different slant on Prine's still-growing legacy is Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows: Songs of John Prine, which will be released by Oh Boy on June 22nd.

Consisting of a dozen classic Prine compositions vividly re-imagined by a selection of maverick musical alchemists, Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows is a collection of interpretations that span everything from stark stringband strains to R& backbeats, gurgling synths, and relentless rockabilly rhythms. Despite the various perspectives, studios, personnel, and voices, Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows holds together as a compelling and unified statement showcasing more of a heartfelt thank-you note than a tribute.

Oh Boy will begin a pre-sale for Broken Hearts & Dirty Windows on April 27th at

1. Justin Vernon of Bon Iver - Bruised Orange (Chain Of Sorrow)
2. Conor Oberst And The Mystic Valley Band - Wedding Day In Funeralville
3. My Morning Jacket - All The Best
4. Josh Ritter - Mexican Home
5. Lambchop - Six O'Clock News
6. Justin Townes Earle - Far From Me
7. The Avett Brothers - Spanish Pipedream
8. Old Crow Medicine Show - Angel From Montgomery
9. Sara Watkins - The Late John Garfield Blues
10. Drive-By Truckers - Daddy's Little Pumpkin
11. Deer Tick featuring Liz Isenberg - Unwed Fathers
12. Those Darlins - Let's Talk Dirty In Hawaiian

4/19 Mount Baker Theatre - Bellingham, WA with Dan Reeder
5/7 Koka Booth Amphitheatre - Cary, NC with Old Crow Medicine Show
5/8 Carpenter Theatre - Richmond, VA with The Felice Brothers
6/4 Robinson Music Hall - Little Rock, AR
6/5 Cannon Center - Memphis, TN
6/12 Bonnaroo - Manchester, TN
7/31 Newport Folk Festival - Newport, RI
8/1 Tarrytown Music Hall - Tarrytown, NY
8/6 Regina Folk Fest - Regina, SK, Canada
8/8 Edmonton Folk Fest - Edmonton, AB, Canada
8/15 Rocky Mountain Folk Festival - Lyons, CO
8/17 Avalon Theatre - Grand Junction, CO
8/19 Red Butte Amphitheatre - Salt Lake City, UT
8/21 Eagle River Pavilion - Boise, ID
9/17 Overture Center - Madison, WI
9/18 State Theatre - Eau Claire, WI
9/20 Grand Theatre - Wausau, WI
9/21 Capitol Civic Center - Manitowoc, WI
9/23 DECC Auditorium - Duluth, MN
9/25 Orpheum Theatre - Minneapolis, MN

here's what else you should know
  • The Ransom Dance (review up later this week) has been picked up as a feature artist on OneHD, Australia's premier sports network. Using the band's songs on promos including this one for UFC
  • new LCD Soundsystem video for "Drunk Girls"
  • vids from Ya Za's performance last week

Become a fan of Sonic on Facebook
Follow Sonic Dissonance on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment