Search This Blog

Sunday, May 9, 2010

New Thieves Like Us due in July

Thieves Like Us continue their style of sentimental electronic music with their second long player, Again and Again. Recorded in early 2009 in a basement in Paris, the songs here reflect the mood of the band, and focus particularly on failed relationships, alcoholism, and the yearning for that perfect imaginary soul mate.

While the faster songs like "Shyness," "One Night With You" and "The Walk" are clearly aimed at the French dance floors, there are plenty of downtempo songs here too. "Never Known Love" and "So Clear" fit somewhere in the spectrum of Slowdive or The Cocteau Twins. After following the band through the highs of their nighttime adventures, the album closes with the very intimate ballad "Forget Me Not" and we are left realizing what goes up, must come down.


Thieves Like Us are two Swedes and one American living in Berlin, Paris, and Milan. They are one of the only multi-nationals that won't exploit you. Mexicans love them. The French love them. Americans love them. The Japanese love them. Neither Andy Grier (vocals, guitar), Björn Berglund (synth), nor Pontus Berghe (percussion) live in their home countries, and none of them probably ever will again.

They first met at a picnic in East Berlin in 2002. Since then, they have also lived together in London, Paris, and New York City. The trio can often been seen in and around night clubs, but they fit awkwardly there. Thieves Like Us were first discovered by the French imprint Kitsuné who released their single, "Drugs In My Body" in 2007. They make pop music with a vintage electronic feel. Many times it makes you dance. Other times it makes you feel strange and wonderful. Back in the day they probably would have signed a contract in blood with Factory Records.

2008's Play Music, their first album, would definitely have fit the bill. BBC Music called it "consistently exciting ... a contender for electronic album of the year." A writer for the legendary entity Amoeba Music exclaimed: "I have managed to fall deeply in love with this band in a matter of weeks. It is getting to the point where I don't want to listen to anything else." They are just about to release their second album, Again and Again, and continue their non-stop world tour..

Again and Again is due July 6 (Shelflife)
01 - Never Known Love

02 - Shyness
03 - Mercy
04 - One Night With You
05 - Silence
06 - Lover Lover
07 - Love Saves
08 - The Walk
09 - So Clear
10 - Forget Me Not

and let's not forget -
  • Caspian featured in Rock-A-Rolla magazine
  • new from Mylene Sheath - Gifts From Enola s/t on July 13; same date for Angel Eyes' Midwestern
  • Roger Waters interview video on AOL
  • Weezer to perform on George Lopez show on May 12

Become a fan of Sonic on Facebook
Follow Sonic Dissonance on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment