Search This Blog

Thursday, June 3, 2010

Filter returns this August with their fifth album

Platinum rock band, Filter will release their fifth studio album, The Trouble With Angels this August on Rocket Science Ventures.  Fans of the band’s Short Bus and Title of Record will be ecstatic to hear Richard Patrick return to his industrial roots.

Rocket Science owner Kevin Day says, “I have known Richard for a good while and have been a fan of his music and the Filter ‘sound’ since their first release. The Trouble With Angels is exciting because it’s a strong return to the sonically dark jet engine growl that Filter invented and defined.”

Produced by Bob Marlette (Black Sabbath, Atreyu, Saliva) the album’s debut single, ‘The Inevitable Relapse,’ features thundering chords and an isolated bass line that both conjure and modernize Filter’s signature sound.  “People think  ‘The Inevitable Relapse’ is about addiction, consumption, and obsession, but they’re wrong,” says Richard Patrick. “It’s a love song.” The single will be impacting Active Rock and Alternative radio June 21st.

Filter will  also be releasing a limited edition 7” vinyl single, exclusively for the Record Store Day coalition of stores on July 6th, featuring ‘The Inevitable Relapse” album version and a Rob Patterson 666 re-mix on the B-side.

Richard Patrick has taken Angels to the next level both lyrically and musically, employing some of the best in the business for the upcoming tour. The live band features Patrick on vocals and guitar, guitarist Rob Patterson (Korn, Otep), bassist Phil Buckman and longtime Filter drummer, Mika Fineo.

For news and tour info:

The Trouble With Angels track listing:

1.     The Inevitable Relapse
2.     Drug Boy
3.     Absentee Father
4.     No Love
5.     Fades Like a Photograph (Dead Angel)
6.     Down With Me
7.     Catch A Falling Knife
8.     The Trouble With Angels
9.     Clouds
10.   No Re-Entry

you may have heard these ones before, they're leftovers from pre-holiday emails -
  • The New Loud releasing Measures Melt on June 8 complete with a song dedicated to Twin Peaks
  • Olafur Arnalds has a new video for "Hægt, kemur ljósid" (Slowly, the light comes)
  • Pearly Gate Music tour dates 
  • Maps & Atlases "Solid Ground" download from new album due June 29
  • Menomena will release Mines on Barsuk July 27 - get the first single here
  • Ra Ra Riot's The Orchard due Aug. 24 (Barsuk)
  • Mates of State have a new covers album due this June 15 on Barsuk - see the video for their cover of Nick Cave's "Love Letter" also cover The Mars Volta, Tom Waits, Fleetwood Mac and more

Become a fan of Sonic on Facebook
Follow Sonic Dissonance on Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment